Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I NEED HELP

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I NEED HELP

I have an old utility bill that is currently showing as charged-off on my credit report. It is scheduled to fall off in March 2012, the bill is only $119 which I could now easily pay, but my question is which action could help my credit score- pay it now or just let it fall off?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
m29
Regular Contributor

Re: I NEED HELP

You could call the OC and offer a PFD if you truly feel you owe this bill! Otherwise I would wait for it to fall off in March! Just my opinion!

Starting Score: 8/30/11 EQ 520 TU98 593
Current Score: LO Pull 3/5/12 EQ 659 TU04 652 EX 649
LO Pull 5/26/12 EQ 656 TU04 668 EX 651
Goal Score: 700 by 12/30/12

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new to all this so sorry if my questions seem dumb, but I forgot to mention that is is currently reporting every month as past due. So even though it might stay on my credit report for let's say another 7 years it should report as paid if I was to pay it now right? And it shouldn't hurt my score if it stays on there as paid I'm guessing, right? Or wrong? I don't mind opinions bc I have no idea Lol

Message 3 of 9
MarcinXP
Frequent Contributor

Actually I believe if you pay it right now your score would drop as the agency will update Paid in Full with today's date which will drop your score because it would recognize that there is a recent collection activity. If it is yours and you want to make good on it then do a PFD, but if it's due to fall off in March 2012 which is 5 months from now roughly then save yourself the $119 and if your heart won't let you then donate it to charity. In anycase your increase won't be that noticeable since collection is at or around 7 years anyway so you might see a slight bump of 1 or 2 points even if it falls off or you pay and they delete it.