cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am an irresponsible college student

tag

I am an irresponsible college student

So.... I am an irresponsible college student and I have gotten myself into a little credit card debt. I currently have 1 collections account on my CR and balances over 30% with Captial One, Discover, and Nordstrom. I am working to pay off the credit cards I have now, but I need to find a way to not damage my credit for good. Any help/advice given will be greatly appreciated. I will admit, I shop...a lot and that is something that greatly effects my balances. I usually shop before I pay bills and now I am trying to turn that around and find a way to pay off my credit cards ASAP and work to rebuild my credit positively. Will just paying off my balances do this?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: I am an irresponsible college student

@kaylabaylawayla wrote:

So.... I am an irresponsible college student and I have gotten myself into a little credit card debt. I currently have 1 collections account on my CR and balances over 30% with Captial One, Discover, and Nordstrom. I am working to pay off the credit cards I have now, but I need to find a way to not damage my credit for good. Any help/advice given will be greatly appreciated. I will admit, I shop...a lot and that is something that greatly effects my balances. I usually shop before I pay bills and now I am trying to turn that around and find a way to pay off my credit cards ASAP and work to rebuild my credit positively. Will just paying off my balances do this?

Welcome to the forum

Your not the first college student to do this ...so take comfort and bravo for seeking helpSmiley Happy

Now the tough love ........Stop using your cards and living beyond your means and let's get caught up.Smiley Tongue

If you would post CC balances and APR% maybe we can find a way out w/o damaging your credit.