Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have lots of cash, how best to rebuild

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have lots of cash, how best to rebuild

I've been a lurker for the past few months and want to say thanks to everyone.  You've given me the knowledge to get back on track. 

2.5 years ago I couldn't get anything aside from a Capital One $500 credit limit and 480 credit score. Last year I couldn't get a car loan with a 520-550 score. 

Now I've gottan a car loan (last month, dealer was able to beat USAA financing), $1500 Cap 1, $2k secured USAA Amex, $500 Credit 1, $500 VS, $500 Care Credit (just got that tonight and will call for a CLI tomorrow, and was very surprised I got anything as I burned them about 3 years ago)

I'm a doctor and doing well now. I had to charge off some debt before going to school and then my ex-husband worked hard to destroy my credit while I was away at school.  I divorced him in 2011 and graduated in 2012. I'm still single, btw.... I promise there are a few single sexy female doctors left. 

I'm banking cash and aiming at getting a house this fall. This may be unrealistic but I'm trying. Current MyFico is 607. 

I've gotten tons dropped off my credit and have sitting next to me currently a stack of 12 letters to every single badie printed, a combo of GW, PFD, and for the 2 judgements, asking for a nonsuit motion.  I charge everything and pay it off every 2 weeks, leaving a 10% balance before reporting time. Everything (car payment) is paid well in advance and never late. 

I'm looking for more ways to boost my score. Thoughts I had:

-Authorized signor.  For example, best friend has very (10K, maybe unlimited on her Amex?) high limits on her credit cards

-More secured cards (can go up to 5k with USAA I think, maybe get a USAA mastercard secured?)

-Stop randomly applying for lines of credit