cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need a home really bad. Please help me with my credit.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I need a home really bad. Please help me with my credit.

I currently have a 567 score and I'm trying to raise it to 620 by Dec. 1 in order to get a home and qualify for the 8k tax credit. Here are the credit issues:

Student Loans- deferred b/c I'm still a student

CC- that was closed due to non usuage paid on time $0 balance

2 charge offs- Wachovia ($318) and Fashion Bug ($342)

1 car loan- owe $1600

medical collections

I have contacted Wachovia and they have agreed to a PFD and I'm also planning on doing the same for Fashion Bug. I have one more credit card that I recently got b/c I thought it would increase my score and b/c the other card was closed out. I quess I'm wondering if its possible to raise my score 53 point by Dec. 1?

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I need a home really bad. Please help me with my credit.

Raising your scores before Dec 1 shouldn't be an issue.  A PFD on both accounts will help a lot, but the medical collections are most likely doing a lot of damage too.  Are the collections small ones you could afford to pay in full or are they larger ones that you would need to make payments on?  I strongly recomend looking into the HIPAA process for the med collections and you can easily get that burden off your report and bring your scores up past where you want them faster than you might think.

Keep in mind it takes time to get a mortgage completed and to be eligable for the tax credit you need to close on the house before Dec 1.  I'd recommend you set a goal of getting the whole mortgage process started no later than early September so you don't find yourself trying to get a deal finalized in the 11th hour.

Message Edited by Myriad on 06-13-2009 12:14 PM
Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable