Did you mean: 

I need some serious advice....

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I need some serious advice....

I'm very new to this so work with me. 

First off I have terrible, terrible, terrible credit Smiley Sad

Here is the list of all the negatives on my CR. 

-Collection from 08 for $387 

-Collection from 09 for $954 Cap One CC

-Collection from 07 says paid but still on my report?

- Collection 08 for $247 (Cable bill)

- Collection 09 fpr $1824 (Family Cell Phone Bill, Nobody paid their bill and i get stuck with the damage)

So my question is I know that I can pay the $247, and $387 collection but I don't know how to pay it? 

Need advice fpr the Cap One and the Cell Phone Bill...

Thanks in advance for everyone advice! 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I need some serious advice....

Before you ever pay a collection agency (CA), there are a few things you need to know:

• Never speak to a collection agency on the phone.  Their goal is to lie, harass, and threatened you (basically scare the heck out of you) so that you make an immediate payment on the phone to them right there.
  • Do all of your negotiations by mail.  Mail everything Certified Return Receipt (CRR).  It will cost you $5.59 in total to mail it. Save all of your letters and receipts.
  • Before beginning negotiations with a collection agency, send them a debt validation (DV) request first by mail.   Under  FDCPA law you have a right to request them to validated.  Basically you are asking them to prove that they legally own the debt, that they are registered to collect in your state.  They should also provide you with a payment history so you can see the first date of delinquency.  This date will be important because of SOL (statue of limitations).  Find out the SOL in your state.