cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If I can do it...so can everyone else...

tag
Pilotdude
Established Contributor

If I can do it...so can everyone else...

This is intended to serve as motivation and hopefully inspiration for anyone who thinks they will never get the bad credit monkey off their back...

I train wrecked my credit years back and i do mean train wreck. It was bad.  Scores in the low 5's and even a stint in the higher 4's.

I studied up on GW, PFD and DVs and started picking each derog, CO and CA apart piece by piece.  I paid what I could and let the one's I couldn't pay expire based on time.

It took a long time and living on cash for most of the time sucked.  I could not even get cable tv without needing a 400 dollar deposit.

Toward the end of the journey, I found these forums and lurked for awhile before speaking up.  I listened to the advice that I got from those here who were in the same shoes or had walked my current path before.  It worked.

Today, I took my new credit scores for a trip around the track and returned with a Chase Freedom, Discover IT and Amex BCP.  I also got into NFCU and have an app pending for their Flagship Signature Visa. (I hope I get the NFCU card of course but if I don't, its okay)

I received a total of 7500.oo in additional unsecured cedit today and when I started this morning, my scores were as they are in my Signature.

So its really simple, if I can do it, so can everyone else. 

I want to say Thank you to everyone here for their advice and patience over the past few months with me. 

Hang in there folks, there is an end and its often a lot closer than we believe during the journey of rebuilding our credit. 

Smiley Happy

NFCU #1 Fan!! NO MOAR APPS TIL 10/13 Minimum!!
TU -746, EX - 721, EQ -745
Cards:NFCU Flag Visa Sig $10000, CSP $8500, AMEX BCP $2000 Freedom $3500, Disc IT $5000, Cap 1 Green $2100, Credit 1 CLOSED! AU on Amex Green, Discover $2000, Cap One Plat $1000
Message 1 of 6