cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Improving PIF medical collection on CR - possible?

tag
Mandazoid
Contributor

Improving PIF medical collection on CR - possible?

Last spring, I had a very, very minor medical procedure and wound up with a $180 bill from it. Through a series of unfortunate events, I missed the payment notices and the bill went into collections. Once I received the collections notice, I called the CA (an attorney) and immediately made PIF. Last week, I pulled my TU report for the first time and saw this listed as an AA that will fall off my report in 12/2016. Considering that the balance was so measly, I'm mortified that I have a $180 collection showing on my account. It's listed as "Payment after Charge Off/Collection".

Is it even possible to at least improve the negative reporting on my CR to a better pay status? Is it worth a GW? And if it is, who do I sent it to, the doc's office or the CA's attorney? I'm pretty new to all this, so I'm not sure yet on what can/can't be done, especially with regard to medical bills. I appreciate your patience and help! Smiley Happy

Starting Score: 609 (8/23/11)
Current Score: TU: 805 (5/27/16)
Goal Score: 820
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

Re: Improving PIF medical collection on CR - possible?

@Mandazoid wrote:

Last spring, I had a very, very minor medical procedure and wound up with a $180 bill from it. Through a series of unfortunate events, I missed the payment notices and the bill went into collections. Once I received the collections notice, I called the CA (an attorney) and immediately made PIF. Last week, I pulled my TU report for the first time and saw this listed as an AA that will fall off my report in 12/2016. Considering that the balance was so measly, I'm mortified that I have a $180 collection showing on my account. It's listed as "Payment after Charge Off/Collection".