Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inaccurate Credit Report, trying to qualify for mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Inaccurate Credit Report, trying to qualify for mortgage

My husband and I are attempting to fix inaccuracies on our credit report, and do the right things to improve our credit score. Well, more specifically, his, because his is better than mine and he is the income earner, while I am a student. When I reviewed his report yesterday, I noticed immediately that there are errors. We previously owned 2 homes, and when we came into hard times, one of them ended in foreclosure, and the other resulted in a short sale. We were not asked to repay deficiencies on either one as we were not financially able. HOWEVER- our credit report reflects balances and payments due on both!(multiple times because the mortgages changed hands) I have read that this could definitely be hindering his score recovery. What is the most efficient (and fastest) way to get this corrected?

Also, he has a total of 3 collections. 2 of them are still reporting, the other has not reported since 2009. I planned to pay the first 2, and wondered if it will make a difference if I pay in full vs settling for a lower amount... And should we even pay the one that hasn't reported? I read here on the forum that its best to leave it alone if its no longer reporting- that paying it could actually result in a blow to the credit score...

Our goal score is 640 for the mid score. Right now its 608. But that's a score pulled from another website, and my brother informed me that it may not be the "fico" score the lenders see...

Please advise. It will be so much appreciated!!   Smiley Wink

Jen

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Inaccurate Credit Report, trying to qualify for mortgage

Welcome to the FICO Forums, Jen_C!

@Anonymous wrote: