Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing Credit Limits

tag
flashflamingo
Established Member

Increasing Credit Limits

I'm currently rebuilding my credit through challenging collections/charge-offs on my reports and paying down my credit cards. A month ago, I only had a Capital One Secured Card with a $200 credit limit. As of now, I increased my secured card's limit by $50 and added a $300 Capital One Cash Rewards card. From here, I plan on gardening until some pesky inquiries fall off over the summer. 

But my question is how do I increase those limits so that I look worthy of more credit.  Apparently my low credit limits signal that I cannot handle higher credit limits? Keep in mind that I'm a graduate student who makes a ~$13k salary from my assistantship. However, I can count my tuition remission as an additional $10k of income now. 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
AZHeather
Frequent Contributor

Re: Increasing Credit Limits

If you can add more money to your secured card, that would be good.  As for the Cap 1, keep using your card, pay on time, keep your utilization low, and in 6 months you can contact them for a CLI.  Can't guarantee that they will oblige, but they like to see 6-12 months of responsible use before they will even consider it.  Also, it sounds like your credit will be healthier in 6-12 months, which will help.

If you are in Cap One's credit step program, then they will review your account automatically after 4 or 6 months and evaluate you for a CLI.

Message 2 of 6
flashflamingo
Established Member

What is the Capital One Credit Step Program? I haven't heard of it. 

Message 3 of 6
AZHeather
Frequent Contributor