cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insurance Collection Account Advice

tag
OCCA

Insurance Collection Account Advice

I'm just getting started with rebuilding my credit and I really want to say how much I appreciate all the information available here!  I have a collection account showing up on my TU report that I could use some advice on--

Progressive Insurance Collection—Serviced by Credit Collection Services (CCS); reported 12/1/12; balance $221; DOFD 12/1/08.

I had a Progressive Insurance policy March thru August of 2008 that was PIF 8/22/08.  The collection amount is approx equal to the down payment I paid for the policy I did have, but I used a different insurance company for the 2nd half of 2008.  I don’t recall if there was any auto-renew option on the Progressive policy.  Either way, I don't believe I owe this money.

Is it too late to start with a DV letter?

If they are able to validate the debt based on an auto-renew policy feature, would a PDF be my next step? 

I live in CA where the SOL is 4-years for a written contract.  Am I risking re-starting this time period by doing anything?

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
notfancy
Valued Contributor

Re: Insurance Collection Account Advice

Progressive is terrible that way. I had a collection with them too. They said I owed money and I had to dispute it numerous times. I had my insurance company that I transfered to send them several documents to prove that I changed insurances and they have some sort of doc that they have to send anyway when taking over coverage. It took a while but I eventually have to dispute it with the credit bureaus and show when my coverage ended, who picked it up, how I had no lapse with the DMV and it was a giant hassle.

625 EQ FICO Current Score: 660 DCU EQ FICO/ 645 Scorewatch EQ FICO , EX FICO 664, TU FICO 737 (08/2014)
Goal Score: 700   Seedling again as of 07/29/14
Message 2 of 5
Burned2manybridgesB4