cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting Credit Reporting Snafu - Disputable?

tag
daveg38
Established Contributor

Interesting Credit Reporting Snafu - Disputable?

I ordered my trimerge from Equifax.

Looking things over, I noticed several of my chargeoffs are being reported as chargeoffs BUT under the 24-month payment history, there are accounts being stated as 'paid as agreed' for 3, 5 even 9 months! (by Equifax).

Obviously this is pretty misleading. A creditor may say, "He's got a chargeoff and is making imaginary payments that aren't being posted".

Should I dispute this directly with EQ, or do I take this to CFPB and tell them they're misleading myself and creditors? Do I hire an attorney and drag their a-- through litigation, maybe get a fat paycheck?  Or is this just some glitch that will fix itself?

For your amusement, I included a screen shot of Capital One, which according to Equifax I have been paying judiciously for 9 months.

Cappy1Example.png

Ch7 Discharge: 5/14/2016 | Target RedCard $900 | Merrick DYL $500
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Interesting Credit Reporting Snafu - Disputable?

My 2 cents here: I would only dispute it if the incorrect data is having a negative impact on my credit and I expect to get some relief by disputing it.

I kinda doubt you would get a settlement check for this, more than likely Equifax will ask the creditor to validate their info within 30 days and you may end up getting stuck with attorney's fees. You can always call an attorney and get a free consultation and see what they say?

Best of luck!

Message 2 of 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Interesting Credit Reporting Snafu - Disputable?

It is common for commerical credit reports to show a green box under payment history if the furnisher did not make a reporting for that month.