Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interesting Credit Situation

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Interesting Credit Situation

I have become the "Credit Guru" in my family (which is funny because I am still learning myself) and I need some help on an issue my dad has.

My dad owned a business and had a business card attached to it.  The business started to go south, and he ended up selling.  Listed in the selling agreement was that the buyer would take over all debt associated with the business, which at the time was about 100k on the company card.  During the transaction, letters signed by both parties were sent to BOA stating the new buyer would be taking over the card.

All was good for a year, and the buyer made all payments and everything.  Then for whatever reason the buyer decided to stop paying.  My dad started getting collection calls and his credit took a huge hit.

He has contacted the CRAs and BOA about the issue but it doesn't seem to be getting resolved.

As of today, all 3 reports show that the account is disputed.  EQ and EX show closed.  And TU just shows "Disputed by creditor".

We are trying to determine his next steps.  He has flawless credit otherwise, and even with this derog he is still in the 750+ across all 3.  He hasn't had any issues until he was declined for Citi AA Platinum, and the analyst told him that they can't do anything with the collection on his account.

Again, he has already sent letters to the CRAs, disputed online, and contacted the collection agencies and the initial bank.  But there still seems to be issues.  He is willing to try any of it again if you guys think that's the best option.

Thanks for any advice!

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Interesting Credit Situation

I am surprised that BOA didn't close out the card under your Dad's name. Do you have the signed agreements between the new buyer and your Dad?