Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is disputing same as Debt validation?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is disputing same as Debt validation?

Hello,

I'm new to this "game" and have had quite the journey thus far.

First, in April of last year I thought i'd do the right thing and pay off old debt. Bad move. CA's came out of the wood work and piled on my credit report and calls flooded in. About that time i disputed these CAs on my credit report with each agency.

I recieved no "Validation of debt" or letters stating that any disputes were found to be valid.

Fast forward to today. I have 3 specific lines on my report that have said "CONSUMER DISPUTES - REINVESTIGATION IN PROGRESS
COLLECTION ACCOUNT", "Account in dispute-reported by subscriber", "Account information disputed by consumer."

These lines of credit have said this for months and months with no further outcome.

now as I am led to understand from the minimal amount of research i have done thus far Texas state law (my resident state) requires them to respond with in 30 days. Seeing as how they have not am I able to inform them of such and have them immediately deleted?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Crashem
Valued Contributor

Re: Is disputing same as Debt validation?

debt validation isn't the same as disputing with the CBs.  although debt validation can lead to the removal by the CBs.