cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there anything I can do to raise my credit score just a few points??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there anything I can do to raise my credit score just a few points??

I have been rebuilding my credit for a few months now and I just need a few points to get to a better mortgage interest rate.

My credit is as follows:

Equifax: 602- 1 medical collection

Trans: 671- No collections

Experian: 607- 1 medical collection

I had my scores higher but some mortagage inquiries have made them go down. I have total credit line of $2200, My utilization is at zero. Is there anything I can do to to up Experian or Equifax just a little?? Ive had some collections removed, and for some reason I cannot dispute anything online with any of the bureaus...My Lender is looking for a middle score of 640. Experian is showing as 633 on the scoring model that they use, so as you can see Im pretty close!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Teo
Valued Member

Re: Is there anything I can do to raise my credit score just a few points??

For me, what worked was two things:  (1) the formula of having one card report at 5% or less util, and the rest at 0.  This made my score higher than letting all report at 0; and (2) taking out a secured shared loan for 500 and immediately paying it down (works only if you have no other installment loans, opened or closed) - there's a thread here about how to do it.

Current FICO 743, no baddies
April '16 550 4 collections

Current credit and limits (in order of approval)
Discover It (Unsecured at 6 mos) 4.6k -- Cap 1 Quicksilver One (900) -- Overstock (3800) -- NFCU Cash Rewards (25k) -- Share Secured Installment (500 - paid down to 40ish) -- Amex PRG (NPSL) -- Amex BCP (25k) -- Amex EDP (15k) -- Citi Advantage (10k)
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable