Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this even legal? Re: Midland

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Is this even legal? Re: Midland

@Reighn9 wrote:

I have 2 accounts with Midland, one was still on the CRA when they first called. They refused to give me a DV. I've been making payments for about 2 years now and I know their amount is quite a lot higher than what I owed , but they never told me the original amount. A few months later they called me on another account, not on CRA, with another exorbitant amount. This had been a secured card. Not only can I not get a DV, I can't find out if I've gotten credit for the secured amount. Neither account is being reported at this time. I've had nothing but trouble from Midland. They don't keep to their payment arrangements, they stop my automatic payments and demand a different payment or account due in full, different agents will call and tell me the previous arrangements I made weren't legal. I'm on Social Security, I'm paying voluntarily. They can't garnish my check. They can't legal sue me, these accounts are past the statutes of limitations. Can I stop making the payments? I don't like the way I'm being treated and being charged many times more than I owe without proof. They refuse to provide any accounting.

If the accounts are past the statute of limitations, you can safely refuse to pay them.  You need to be careful and thoroughly investigate your state's civil procedure law as it pertains to SOL.  In some states the fact that you've been voluntarily making payments on the account may reset the SOL.  Assuming the SOL has run and they can no longer sue you, if you stop paying they will likely hound you.  Sending them a Cease & Desist (aka FOAD) will solve that issue.

Are the accounts still on your credit report?  They should not appear on your credit report, generally, after 7.5 years have passed from the date they first went delinquent.

Message 11 of 17
guiness56
Epic Contributor