cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Judgement issues, Any options?

tag
New-Girl

Judgement issues, Any options?

I have a judgement from September 2004.  It is almost due to come off my credit report (around September). Dominion Law Associates wants me to pay it right away.  They will settle for 60% in two payments with $100.00 deposit by Monday.  Are they trying to get any type of payment so they can doing something else? The original amount was around $2000.00 but now it is almost $8000.00. 

1.Should I wait until it comes off my credit report before I make any type of settlement? 

2.Should I see a lawyer and see they can negotiate a reduced amount? 

3. Can they go to court and reissue another judgement or something so it stays on my credit report?

4. Can they take money out of my checking account?

I apologize.  I am new to the boards and I have tried to find the answers but I am a novice. 

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Heavanly1
Regular Contributor

Re: Judgement issues, Any options?

@New-Girl wrote:

I have a judgement from September 2004.  It is almost due to come off my credit report (around September). Dominion Law Associates wants me to pay it right away.  They will settle for 60% in two payments with $100.00 deposit by Monday.  Are they trying to get any type of payment so they can doing something else? The original amount was around $2000.00 but now it is almost $8000.00. 

1.Should I wait until it comes off my credit report before I make any type of settlement? 

I wouldn't recommend that. The creditor has already received a judgment against you and the legal means to collect it. If they are willing to settle the debt for 60% of the judgement amount, get the agreement in writing and then submit your payments.

I don't think that would help you much. Any savings you gain by hiring an attorney would be negated by the price the attorney would charge you.