cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Judgment paid 7 years ago never reported as paid.

tag
Determined_Home_Seeker
Established Member

Judgment paid 7 years ago never reported as paid.

Back in May I saw a judgment on my credit profile so I called the agency to pay. Now I called them to see why they havent filed a satisfactin of judgment yet. Come to find out, the one I paid in May was never on my credit report. The one that IS reporting on my credit profile was paid back in 2007 and they are "not sure" why the satisfaction of judment was never filed. I have been putting off buying a home for two years thinking I owed this and was wating for it to come off after I paid it. I am soooo mad at this moment. Now the suckier part its, they did give me the satisfaction of judment Friday, but this thing comes off my record in 2 month anyhow. 

Starting Score: 566 (mf) 572 (ck) 588 (exp) on 1/10/14
Current Score: 609 (mf), 598 (ck) 658 (exp)
Short Term Goal Score: 680

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Judgment paid 7 years ago never reported as paid.

Two things: 1) make sure the Satisfaction is recorded (the one from Friday). The other one should have been recorded too. 2) It is a good thing it is paid because the mortgage company requires judgments to be paid prior to issuing a loan whether or not the judgment is on your credit report. So all is good Smiley Happy

You can pull up your own public records in the county where you live. Most of the time it is easily available by going to the Clerk of Courts website and putting in your name and all the public records will show up. It is a good double check to do before you make application for a mortgage so there are no surprises.

Message 2 of 5
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

+1

Reporting a judgment to have been satisfied is required within a set period under the rules of the judgment court..