Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just beginning credit repair

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just beginning credit repair

I am new to this and would like some advice from members who have had success in raising their credit score from credit repair on their own.  We are in desperate need of a new travel trailer for my husband's job.  He travels all over the country for his job and stays months at a time so it is more cost friendly to have a travel trailer as opposed to motel costs.  Anyway, his credit scores are as follows;

Equifax 561 

Transunion 567

Experian 564 

Needless to say we are having a hard time getting an approval.  So, I am starting the task of cleaning up his credit report and have been on this site all afternoon reading and taking notes.  I have a few questions, and I am hoping I can get some advice to a few things that I am not sure how to handle.  

1.  Applied for a secured Discover It Secured Card this afternoon with a $200 limit to start getting some good pay history going. What is your advice to use that card to maximize my score the fastest? 

2. Three collection accounts on report - 2 for Portfolio Recovery Associates and one for JH Portfolio Debt Equities.  I called Portfolio Recovery this afternoon to ask for a Pay for Delete.  I was transferred to a supervisor, who by the way to my surprise was a very nice man, who informed me that they could not do a Pay for Delete.   I informed him that I am trying to raise my score to make a big purchase and that paying it would not accomplish what I was going for.  He said he understood and I told him I would consider maybe a settlement (whiche he offered) once I researched the topic a little more. We hung up.  So my question is?  How should I handle the PRA accounts? what is the best solution.  Also, has anyone had any success with a PFD for JH Portfolio Debt Equities?  I havent called them yet, I plan to do that tomorrow.