cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Length of credit history

tag
bgoss6474

Length of credit history

My Equifax credit score details show reason for low score (EQ 707, TU 809) as 'Poor' for my length of credit history.  I have had a mortgage (never late, never missed pmt) for 22 years.  My oldest credit card is 10 years old (i opened another cc in 2006 and 2 Amex's in 2011, just yesterday opened a Chase Sapphire 5k limit).   I refinanced my mortgage in 2001- does the credit score not pick up that I have been paying my mortgage since 1991?  thanks.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Length of credit history

@bgoss6474 wrote:

My Equifax credit score details show reason for low score (EQ 707, TU 809) as 'Poor' for my length of credit history.  I have had a mortgage (never late, never missed pmt) for 22 years.  My oldest credit card is 10 years old (i opened another cc in 2006 and 2 Amex's in 2011, just yesterday opened a Chase Sapphire 5k limit).   I refinanced my mortgage in 2001- does the credit score not pick up that I have been paying my mortgage since 1991?  thanks.

Is this your EQ score from myFICO ?  Or directly from the EQ website?

FICO scores your average age of accounts ( AAoA ), which is the average age of all accounts ( opened or closed ).     Did you get an AAoA calculation with the score?

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 9
bgoss6474

This score is directly from the EQ website. I did not get an AAoA with the score (unless I missed it). 

Question: Do you think my EQ score would be close/comparable to a score from myFico?  thanks.

Message 3 of 9
bgoss6474

I take that last comment back.  I looked at my EQ report closer and I now see the Average Account age, which shows: 4 years, 5 months.

Message 4 of 9
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

@bgoss6474 wrote:

This score is directly from the EQ website. I did not get an AAoA with the score (unless I missed it).