Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Life after BK7

tag
currypuff

Life after BK7

Hi all,

Newbie here. My wife and I filed BK7 10/2012 and it was discharged 12/2012. Started off rebuilding (her) credit by financing a car since the car we had originally reaffirmed in our BK died on us and luckily we were able to cancel the reaffirmation and include it in our BK7. Then we both got Cap One one cards, she had to pay a $49 processing fee for a $200 CL and I didn't have to on a $300 CL. My wife has had zero luck after Cap One in getting any type of credit. She has applied 3 times in the past 6 months and keeps getting denied so she has given up for the time being. I on the other hand, (and thanks to this wonderful FICO forum) have had some luck, and then some. Found out about the shopping cart trick from My Fico in 5/2013 and I was approved for little piddly paddly cards from J. Crew, Avenue, Express, Victoria's Secret, Ann Taylor (all of these are small CL's of $250 and my wife uses mostly for clearance items and w/coupons).  A few months later was approved for Kohls $500 CL. We are never late and always pay on time on ALL of our credit accounts.  I tried on a monthly basis to get approved for Jessica London with the shopping cart trick but no luck so gave up after a few months. In 11/2013 the shopping cart trick finally worked for Jessica London $250 CL. Yesterday, (after reading some posts here) I decided to try the pre-qual for a Barclay card. I had tried Barclay in May 2013 but was given a different message back then something along the lines of "these cards may interest you" but when I tried yesterday, there was a different message that said I prequalifed for a card and so I applied and was instantly approved for a Barclay Rewards Mastercard with a $750 CL. The APR is high but this will definitely help in our "project rebuild". Like my Cap One card I plan to use this card sparingly and pay off every month. Thought about buying new tires with t