Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking To Increase My Score

tag
Tmac7631
New Contributor

Looking To Increase My Score

As you can see in my sig my score is not great. I am wondering if my score is ever going to go up. The thing that is hurting me the most is a 90 day late in Dec 2010 on my Nelnet student loans. I moved and they never sent me any paperwork saying my loans went out of deferemnt after I graduated. I tried getting them to remove the lates and they will not budge. I have had probably at least 7 or 8 collection accounts removed in the past 2 months across all 3 of my reports. I currently have only one credit card and never been late for 14 months now. My utilization is high right now at about 70% and will have this card payed off in March or April. Will I see a significant jump in my score paying my utilization down to a 0 balance or will the 90 day late sting my score for a long time?

Starting Score: CK 680/ TU FICO 640/ 684 Credit Sesame
Current Score: CK 680/ June 2011 TU 640 FICO/ 684 Credit Sesame
Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
mauve
Valued Contributor

Re: Looking To Increase My Score

Your 90 day late will sting for a long time.

That doesn't mean that paying down your utilization won't help - it's worth 30% of your score.

Starting Score: EQ 583 TU04 619 EX 592 (lender pull) 2010
Previous High Score: EQ 700 TU04 712 EX 726
Current Score: EQ 740 TU(Discover) 750 EX(AMEX) 747
Goal Score: 740+ all around

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 9
Tmac7631
New Contributor

Thanks Mauve. Yeah I figured that 90 day late will sting me for a long time. If it was not for those stupid school loans I would be in much better shape right now. I will try and pay my card off this month and see what kind of jump I get out of that.

Message 3 of 9
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus