Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost and Frustrated...Needs Help ASAP.

tag
KitKitty

Lost and Frustrated...Needs Help ASAP.

Hello All,

I know my question has been asked many times and I know I should be looking around in the forums to help myself but I am new to this and have no idea where to start or where to find what I need to know. But before I start asking questions, I will tell you a little about myself and how I got myself to this point. Like any teenager who just started college, I was lured in by the countless tables of banks that offered free checking/saving accounts for students and of course, the undeniable credit card offers. That was 13 years ago and now I am looking at a hole of debt that I do not know how to climb out of. I need help on where to start and how.

I am currently looking at my credit report but have no idea what it means or what it is talking about. The only thing I can understand clearly is that my credit score is at 530 which is definitely not where I want it to be. I am finally somewhat stable financially and am willing to pay my debt off by partial settlement but needs help with as much information as possible on how to do that and start rebuilding my credit.

My first question, where do I start? I know I have dozens of credit cards but currently on my credit report I only see 4 negative accounts and 1 collections.

How do I contact these creditors and how can I ask them for a partial settlement? I see their address, but no phone number. I would prefer to call them directly unless I should be writing a letter or something? Also, as I am looking at the report, I notice that the "date of last activity" is back in 2003 and it is now 10 years but why haven't they dropped it? I thought they drop these accounts after 7 years or so?