Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MIDLAND CREDIT MANAGEMENT- REPORTING 120+ PAST DUE IN 2010 ON 2006 ITEM

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

MIDLAND CREDIT MANAGEMENT- REPORTING 120+ PAST DUE IN 2010 ON 2006 ITEM

I have an old Tribute Master Card from 2006. Last reported date of activity as March 2007. MCM is now reporting this 120+ past due as of 3/2010.

1. This is my account with Tribute.

2. I have not contacted them verbally or in writting to validate it.

3. I did dispute through EQ saying that I needed it validated. EQ investigated saying it was valid. This was in Feburary. It was after this since MCM started reporting 120+ past due again.

4. My SOL in my state of SC is 3 yrs.

How can they do this? The account has been dormant since 2007.

I've read numerous posts here in this forum but I'm still unclear about what to do now. I would love to just PFD with them (even the total amount they want) but I've read no one has had success.

If anyone has any recent news or out comes regarding MCM. I would really appreciate it.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: MIDLAND CREDIT MANAGEMENT- REPORTING 120+ PAST DUE IN 2010 ON 2006 ITEM

They cant.

Your only account with anyone is the one you had with the OC.  The OC can report lates as long as the OC account is open and delinquent.  Was a 120-day  late ever reported by the OC?

The CA does not have an "account" with you.  Reporting of a CA is a separate transaction between only the CA and the CRA.  CAs cant report "120-day lates."

A CA initially reports their collection activity to the CRA, which sets a date of opening of the CA "account" with the CRA.

Thereafter, they can only report on that "account" by updating the status code to one of the following:

1. Balance remains unpaid

2. Partial balance paid, unpaid balance remains

3.Settled for less than the full amount of the debt

4. Full amount paid

5. CA reporting deleted