Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macy's CO ... Questionable Reporting and PTD Questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Macy's CO ... Questionable Reporting and PTD Questions

To make a long story short, I studied abroad in 2011 and completely forgot about, and thus, neglected, my Macy's charge card in the process. The kicker? The balance was only $58. The debt has been charged off, but there are some discrepancies in how it is being reported.

1. Equifax shows a status of "charged off account/account closed by credit grantor." It shows the account as derogatory in September, October and November 2012 and then it doesn't show as derogatory again unti August 2015. It currently still shows as derogatory. 

2. Transunion is not reporting it as derogatory at all, but shows its status as "account closed by credit grantor."

3. Experian shows a status of "account closed at credit grantor's request." Experian began reporting it as derogatory in July 2013. However, it started showing as "ok/paid as agreed" for almost all of 2015 even though I haven't touched it.

I called Macy's today to try to pay off the $58 since I just found out it still exists because my fiance and I are planning on applying for a mortgage soon. The automated message asked me to enter my SSN and then it told me it doesn't recognize that SSN as associated with a Macy's account.

1. Any ideas why my SSN wouldn't be found in their system? There are no indications that Macy's ever sold my debt.

2. Any ideas as to why Experian would randomly show the account as ok throughout 2015? (Hoping this is not a sign of potentially fraudulent activity on my account).

3. Should I try my luck with a pay to delete? 

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Macy's CO ... Questionable Reporting and PTD Questions

It is not a case of each CRA having access to the same information, and yet "reporting" it differently.