Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mess of credit and seeking advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mess of credit and seeking advice

Newbie here and I'm finally deciding to pay attention to credit and try and clean up the mess I've created!  Here's my mess and my questions:

1.  I have a charged off auto loan (March 08) with Wells Fargo (previously Wachovia) showing for $9000.  The vehicle was never repossessed and I paid a hefty tax fine when they reported the charge off.  I'm getting a work bonus next week and am working to improve my horrible credit and would like advice on best option.  I can settle it - I still have the vehicle, but not the title - but not for $9000.  According to Kelly Blue Book it's only worth about $1100 right now.  Would you recommend calling or writing to offer the settlement?  I'm hoping that they would negotiate and send me the title.   Would there by anything else I could do to make a positive impact on my credit?

2.  $4400 owed to a university that was sent to collections.  I am going to pay the university directly.  Would the collection agency then remove it or would I have to contact them to do so?  Would it have to stay?

3.  Paid off charge off to Cash Call (August 2011).  Would a GW letter work with them for removal?

4.  Charged off account with Plains Commerce(July 2008).  I can pay this in full ($282).  I'm thinking a PFD?  Could it work?

5. Three small collections for less than $200 each.  They range from 3-6 years old.  I'd like to send PFD with settlement amount.  Is that a good idea?

6.  I have 2 student loans (Direct and Sallie Mae) that I have just brought current in January (Direct was showing 90 days and Sallie Mae 30 days). 

7.  I have 2 credit cards open, but balances at the limit.  I have 1 30 day late from Nov 2011 and have just paid them off.  I will keep them open and low balance going forward as I've read in the forums.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5