Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Midland Funding trying to collect on a charged off cell phone account

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Midland Funding trying to collect on a charged off cell phone account

Hello all,

I am very new to these types of forums and need help. On 2/1 I was contacted by a rep from Midland Funding stating that I owe $470.04 for an old T-Mobile account. I have not had an account with T-Mobile in over 2 years. I told the rep I had no idea what they were talking about and to send me a verification letter regarding the debt. Well, 4 days later I received the verification letter. I have already prepared a "debt validation" letter and will be sending it to them tomorrow. I have also checked my 3 credit reports and have noticed that on all 3 reports it is showing that I owe this debt to Midland Funding. What I am not understanding is how they are able to report this debt to the credit agencies before contacting me about it. I have lived at the same address for a year and a half and have never been contacted by this company. Is there anything I can do about this? Below is what is on the Equifax and Experian report. Can someone explain this to me because I am confused on how they reported this.

One last thing, according to Federal Law the SOL for cell phone debts is 2 years. I noticed that for written contracts in NY it is 6 years. I did see on an attorney's site that specializes in cell phone debts and it says that it is under Federal Law. Is this really the case or is it actually noticed under written contracts.

Thank you for the help. It is really appreciated.

MIDLAND FUNDING LLC Acct: XXXX Date Opened: 08/28/2012 Amt Owed: $470 Date Reported: 01/17/2013 Amt. Past Due: $470

MIDLAND CREDIT MGMT INC

8875 Aero Dr Ste 200

San Diego , CA-921232255

(800) 825-8131

Account Number: XXXX

Current Status:

Account Owner: Individual Account.

High Credit: $ 470

Type of Account : Open

Credit Limit:

Term Duration: Terms Frequency: