Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mistake?

tag
Tia_Tulip

Mistake?

Hi everyone,

Newbie here.  I've been browsing the forums for a few days and I have learned quite a bit, whish i'd come by a lot sooner. I apololgize in advance for the long post.  Now to my issue:

I want to buy a house i the next 6 months or so. I've been checking my credit scores with Experian, its currently 679.  I'd like to get it up to about 700 or more, if possible.  I ran a 3 beaurau credit report via EX last month and found a collection on my account from 6/2009, on both Experian and Transunion.  I called the Credit Agency regarding this account because I did not know what it was for. Turns its it's for library books, and the collection amount if for $166. When I asked how do I pay it, they lady on the phone told me that I would have to pay the Library directly and they would notify Agency of the payment, but it would take 4-6kweeks (6-8?).  

At the time I was living less at home and more at school and my sisters....hence the missed collection letters. Anyway.

@ the Library:  So here I am just wanting to settle this debt and get it behind me, so i dig up the books I owe and go to the library.   After I returned the books, my $166 balance went down to $64, which were the fines I owe. I pay the $64 in full.  My library account has a $0 balance and I paid with my debit card.  I asked the library lady if they would let Collection Agency know and if they would take the report off and she said yes. ( I can hear you guys yelling 'get it in writing', Smiley Sad.   Just FYI: at this time I did not know about Pay for Delete or GoodWill letters.

This was about 10days ago.  so to my question, if you are still with me:

1) Did i make a  mistake in paying the debt, even if it was to the Original Creditor (the library)?Smiley Surprised

2) Will it negatively affect my FICO?

3)When should I pull my Experian Report to check if it's been reported (it's free since i'm a member)?