Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mountain climb...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mountain climb...

Hi guys!!

This is my first time on the forum, althiough I've viewed in it random searches from time to time over the years. I am currently trying to rebuild my credit from a recent repossesion that was the result of a seasonal job turned bad after college. I was working at a powersports dealership that low and behold...only made money during the summer. Fall season came around and I was faced with some tough choices...choosing between rent and my car payment. What I should have done was called my bank and let them know my situation, but I was so determined to turn my bad luck at the dealership around I lost sight of the bigger pictuire....then POOF...no car. They literally took the car from me on a random Tuesday then, then I found myself in a credit hole for 7 years...

Fast forward 8 months now and I have a job overseas. I make pretty good money so I am currently paying off all of my debts. They wrote of the difference in value for the car after they sold it at auction, so I'm not sure if I can pay that off or not. Or if I even should. All I have left is $192 debt from a few years ago where my then-fiance put a hole in a wall of an apartment during a fight that we both refused to pay for (I know, apartment was in my name so I should have just paid it) and for some time to pass so that my past accounts that I've paid off can start to leave my credit report and I can get a much needed boost.

My credit score is a 514. Where do I go from here?

Thanks a million guys!!!

3 REPLIES 3
medicgrrl
Valued Contributor

Re: Mountain climb...

When a debt is written off, that's only an internal accounting measure. You still owe the amount and they can still sue and obtain a judgement.