cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My FIRST App Spree!! (Success--I think...Yippee!) *NEWBIE POST* Should I app for 1 more!?

tag
ladyMJ
Regular Contributor

My FIRST App Spree!! (Success--I think...Yippee!) *NEWBIE POST* Should I app for 1 more!?

Hello all!

I have been reading thousands (it seems) of posts for the past 2 days, trying to figure out what I need to do to 1) Build my credit score and 2) Get new credit so I can have some nice balances soon in the future (Ang get a mortgage by 2015). From all of my reading I discovered "app sprees" and "gardening." I looked into these subjects more and thought well, I never consciously did either, so maybe this will be a good place to begin my trek up the credit mountains (check the avi).

I am hoping to hear some advice and feedback regarding what I am about to share!!!! Please don't be shy. Smiley Happy

To make a looonnggggg story short here are some facts:

1) I am a 26 yo marketing professional. Pretty decent income, less than 100K, more than 50.

2) According to CK (I know its a fako)

-My TU score is 598. (HAS to be wrong...you'll see why in a moment.)--UPDATE It was actually 651 at time of application. HUGE difference from FAKO

-I have 83 percent credit utilization (I know....)

-Average account age 4 years 7 months w oldest open account 8 years old (average actually dropped due to some student loan consolidating)

- total accounts- 31 (I have a LOT of student loans), 197K to be exact
 (I got my masters and went to law school for a semester to figure out I didn't want to be a lawyer)

-26K balance for 2 auto loans (1 lease, 1 purchase)

-Neiman Marcus Card- 500 limit

-Capital One secured card (2 years old) with 750 limit

- I have an old (1 yr 2 mo) collections account (misunderstanding with the Gas co when I moved.) that was paid in full the same month it reported.