Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Story and My Thanks

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My Story and My Thanks

My Story and My Thanks

My story starts in late-summer of 2001. I was a college student and incredibly young and naive. I worked part-time, went to school full-time and had a social life. Making a measly $15,000 a year working in a grocery store, student loan bills and abhorrent Credit Card companies offering me $5,000 credit card limits was a recipe for disaster. Sure enough, my once hard-nosed way of paying bills on time quickly went by the way-side as that became a virtual impossibility and my outlook on my financial well-being succumbed to the amounting debt I was accruing.

I had to eat, right? I had to put gas in my car, right? I had to buy books, right? I had to pay my phone bill, right? I had to go hang out with my friends for some relaxation, right? All of those things were more important to me than paying my bills on time and that compounding interest quickly got out of control. I was behind in my credit cards and I had no way of surfacing for air. Like many young people, I chose to ignore the problem rather than seek help.

So ignore it I did. And I lived without credit until 2006 when the job I got in the summer of 2002 decided to move me to a new city. Well, I had lived with a buddy of mine who lived in a house his dad owned, so I never had to have my credit ran in order to have a place to live. That was until I moved to a city where I didn’t have friends who’s fathers would rent me a room. Where was I to go? What was I to do?

Did I tell my boss that I couldn’t take this promotion because my credit was so poor and so upside down that no one would even rent me an apartment? I couldn’t do that. I turned to my parents, finally! Mom and Dad consolidated all my debt. Put it in once nice little chunk and I still pay them even ‘til today. It was bad…