cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My first UNSECURED card!! What's next?! :)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My first UNSECURED card!! What's next?! :)

Hey everyone. I've been leaking around for a few months and finally decided the join the community. I need your help. I'm glad to be here.

So here's a little background on me. I'm in my late 20s and made credit mistakes in my early twenties. I have one charged off account on my credit report for about 1100 which comes off this August and a judgment on that same account that comes off a year later. 

Anyway, 13 months ago I decided to start to fix everything because my income is good and I want to start to build and have quality credit. My scores were 530 and 590 on TU and equfax. I applied for the open sky secured visa with a 225 dollar deposit and since then they raised me to 425 without adding another deposit. I have had no late payments and have paid everything off in full. 10 months ago I opened another account. The Merrick bank secured Visa card for 200. Also no late payments etc etc. Since then my scores have jumped to 610 TU and 687 equfax. 3 weeks ago, I went to the capital one pre approved site and was pre approved for the platinum card and the quicksilver one card. I opted for the platinum since I thought the quick silver one was harder to get. I was approved for 300! Not a lot at all but it's something and a start. 

Fast forward to to today and I went to see if the quicksilver one was still pre approved and now it's not.. My scores are exactly the same and I have a total of two inquiries on my report in the past year. I'm assuming it's because I just got approved for the card and I have to wait a little time for another. 

I wish i was getting higher limits and I don't know why I'm not lol. I do everything right and I don't know what's left. I want my scores to keep building and get better so I can finally get some real prime cards.