Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My rebuilding Journey so far...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My rebuilding Journey so far...

Credit was never really a factor in my life, so I had never paid particular attention to it. Besides I KNEW that it was bad.

Here's the quick story...

I finished my degree in Jan 2008. Just in time for the economy to go to hell. I defaulted on 48k of student loans on 10/09.

I had no money, and minimal income, so I really didn't have a solution, so stupidly - I let it lie.

By 2010 I had found a job and had an acceptable salary - but the student loans were so far gone that I had a wage garnishment arleady.

The interesting thing is that they were split between two guarantee agencies.

28k went to Sallie Mae, and in turn to Account control, and eventually FAMS.

The other 20k was either paid or guaranteed by the NJ Higher Education Student Assistance authority. - These are the ppl that had the wage garnisment on me.

For the next 5 years I worked and the garnishment continued. I just considered my take home pay to be the amount I made less the garnishment.

I had no other personal credit, except some stuff from years ago. (some good some bad).

I was an authorized user on two of my family's cards. - a Chase Freedom MC $5k limit (which was basically setup for my exclusive use - I charged I paid) and a BOA World Points MC $5k limit (this was a use in case of emergency card - I have NEVER used my card).