Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NCO

tag
itsmebkt
Established Member

NCO

Hello all...

A couple of nights ago, I received a call, out of the blue, from NCO.

After a few minutes of getting them to be straight with me about why they were calling, they informed me that they received an account from Cap1 re: an old Best Buy card I had 16 years ago.  They gave me the balance and gave me a settlement offer. 

Since I've been monitoring my credit report dilligently for the past several months, this account appears no where on it, nor have I seen an credit inquiries from them or Cap1, or anything else that looked out of the ordinary.

I requested the information in writing while I look thru my records and I should be receiving that information within the week.  An initial look thru my records did not bring up any results, so it's entirely possible that I had forgotten about this account when I took care of most of my past due debt a couple of years ago.

What is the recommended way of handling this?  If it's truly owed, I want to get it taken care of, but more importantly, I want to avoid any credit inquiries from them.

Should I contact Cap1, since they now own the Best Buy cards or just deal with NCO?

Thanks in advance!

05/16/13 - TU FICO: 669 (from MyFico)
05/14/13 - EQ FICO: 657 (from MyFico)
05/28/13 - EQ: 571 EX: 661 TU: 638 (EIDT FAKOs)
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: NCO

If this was from 16 years ago it would not have been on your report for many, many years.  And your state SOL has expired.

They can attempt to collect forever, including pulling your CR. 

I would send them a DV and see what happens.

Did you have a Best Buy CC 16 years ago?

Message 2 of 11
itsmebkt
Established Member

@guiness56 wrote:

If this was from 16 years ago it would not have been on your report for many, many years.  And your state SOL has expired.

They can attempt to collect forever, including pulling your CR.