Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Advice! It wasn't my fault!

tag
jpparker07
New Contributor

Need Advice! It wasn't my fault!

So long story short I have been fighting with a certain unnamed University about an overpayment of financial aid. I graduated in December of 2011. After a YEAR they finally realized that I don't owe money and they actually owe me money. How funny right! It has been a long battle over a mistake of theirs that was completely not my fault. So now I have a collection from the government of the state I live in on my credit report after all my hard work. AND if I file my taxes before the school notifies the state agency that I don't owe a debt they will collect my tax return and I know once its gone I will not get it back.

Now due to personal reasons I have to file my taxes ASAP but the school is saying that the state agency will be notified "some time next month that I don't owe a debt". That isn't really acceptable and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice for me. I do have an email from the school saying that I don't owe money and that my account has been resolved. Can I send that to the agency? I feel like a dispute or DV would take too long. Any advice would help! Thanks!

Cards: AMEX BCE (2k), Barclay Arrival Mastercard (4.3K), Chase Freedom (1K), Discover It (1.3k), SECU (2K), CapOne Quicksilver (750)

Current Scores- Experian- 695, Equifax- 689, Transunion-680

Goal- 720 Across the Board
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
GregB
Valued Contributor

Re: Need Advice! It wasn't my fault!

You probably won't be able to file your taxes soon anyway. The IRS is such a mess due to the incompetence of the current government that most of the forms are not even finalyzed yet. Check out what forms you need and see if they are done yet.