cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help getting credit from 400 range to 580! Out of ideas!

tag
jandj80
Regular Contributor

Need help getting credit from 400 range to 580! Out of ideas!

Hi all. I have been viewing these forums and taking your advice for a couple years. At this point, we are looking to buy a home next spring. My husband has an awesome job, and I am almost done with school. Our debt: We owe about 5K in credit cards (5500 limit total between 5 cards), have two auto loans thru GM financial (owe 39K, vehicles worth about 45K), have student loans (12K), and 2 revolving credit lines that we owe about $900 (limit of 1300). We have had several medical collections, all have been paid in full. He had one judgement filed for a college bill that was from 1999, but they didn't file a judement until 2008, which we paid as well. One collection for an old insurance bill, also paid, and a charged off credit card last year, also paid in full (my bad, my husband had two capital one cards and I totally forgot about the second one as it was a small limit and I just spaced adding it to auto pay). We also have had two recent (June) late payments, both becuase my autopays were rejected by the bank after my husbands company changed their deposit ID following a merger and the deposits didn't jive with the associated payments (autopays are biweekly with payroll). I caught the error after I got a late notice but it was too late. Called Cap one and they would not remove the late pay on either card. We have otherwise paid EVERY loan/card payment on time for no less than 5 years. My husbands student loan was late awhile back, becuase it came off deferment and I was throwing away the notices thinking it was one of those dumb disclosure notices that they send constantly. However, the bank agreed to remove the lates since we have always paid on time. We filed bankruptcy in 2006, as my husband had cancer (at age 18) and had a hundred thousand dolla