Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help rebuilding and understanding

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help rebuilding and understanding

Hi!  I am new to myFICO and I have a few questions.  I am currently in the process of rebuilding my credit (hopefully) and am new to the credit world.  I tried to order an Equifax and Transunion report through myFICO and was unable to do so due to being unable to meet minimum scoring criteria on both.  I have never had any credit cards, I recently finished paying a 2-year loan for roughly 8,000 without a single late payment.  I have also paid off old collections (mostly medical).  I have two medical collections left for 1,000 and 250 as well as a cable bill bill for 250.  All three will be paid by the end of the week.  My main question is why I couldn't recieve any reports as well as will paying off these past collections help my credit score. I did recently complete a "quicky" survey for a round about credit score of 583 (yikes!) but I do understand this was just a survey and nothing serious. I do plan on applying for a mortgage in the near future but am still saving and hopefully getting my ducks in a row.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need help rebuilding and understanding

You can't order your credit score because, since you have never had any credit cards, you do not have a FICO score.  We don't have a FICO score today but, because we have recently applied for, and have obtained 3 secured credit cards, in about 6-7 months we WILL have a FICO score. It takes that long to generate a FICO score.

You can order your credit reports, not scores, but credit reports from this website: click here for free reports.  Go over your credit reports and see exactly what kind of work you need to do to clean up your reports.