Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with a judgement!

tag
sarahcatherinemay
Regular Contributor

Need help with a judgement!

Hi,

I am just getting started on my credit rebuilding process - I am not proud to admit that I let my credit score plumet after my divorce when the bills were just over my head and I have not bothered to check my credit in YEARS! I was extremely surprised to see a JUDGEMENT on there for $191! After some research, this is what I found out Long story short, I was living in New Jersey for work and before I moved, I went to a nail salon to get a manicure and pedicure. I wrote a check for the amount and didn't think more about it. The nail salon did not deposit my check for over a month after I went there and by that time, I had already moved and the account was closed. (Commerce Bank was not in WA state where I was moving home to) So the nail salon sued me for a $70 check. No joke. I never got a single piece of information letting me know about this - they didn't forward any of the legal paperwork to me. No notice at all! A default judgment was awarded and I now have an unpaid judgement from 03/2007 on my credit report. I want to pay this and have it removed, but I'm not sure where to start or what to do! Any help or suggestion would be appreciated! Thank you all so much!

Starting Score: 525
Current Score: EQ Fico 766 | TU Fico 715 | EX Fico 753
Goal Score: 800

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Need help with a judgement!

You can pay it and probably get it vacated because you were not served.  It needs to be done through the state that entered it.

Message 2 of 16
sarahcatherinemay
Regular Contributor

Thank you Smiley Happy Should I get in touch with the attorney or the nail salon? I can't believe that I didn't know about this for so long.