Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need opinion/ thoughts/ help with possible new credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need opinion/ thoughts/ help with possible new credit

I have been repairing my credit since Nov 2015 and have made good progress

538(EQ), 519(TU), 550(EX) -> 640(EX), 665(TU), 635(EX)

I have 2-3 baddies that I am still working on getting removed, and hopefully can get those squared away.

I currently have the following credit lines

2 secured cards (Cap One - $3000; SDFCU - $500) - Utilization <5%

2 Unsecured Cards (Citi Double cash - $2000; Amazon Prime Store - $800) - Utilization <5%

1 personal loan ($1000 - $29/ month with 2.5 years to go) - got this so I can have an installment mix on my profile.

All of these are less than a year old (some even less than 6 months)

The questions are as follows.

1. I have offers from USAA and Cap One for unsecured cards....should I take advantage?  I am worried that additional new credit will trash my score, but at the same time I really would like to increase the amount of available credit therefore further limiting my utiliaztion.  I eventually want to get a couple unsecured cards, so that I can close out the secured cards and get money back from those.  Basically what is the trade off between (time and hard pulls vs. increased credit and lower utilization)

2. I have an obscene car lease (Uber buying program) that I got while my credit was in the toilet, I would like to transfer this to a tradition bank loan.  What are thoughts on this? 

Any help/ thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need opinion/ thoughts/ help with possible new credit