cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Needing some guidance - old collections CC account w/ Portfolio Recovery Assoc.

tag
sk1922

Needing some guidance - old collections CC account w/ Portfolio Recovery Assoc.

Hello all members!

This is my first post on myFico.com and I'm in need of some serious guidance on how to best approach/resolve my collections issue.

Some background on my situation...

• Have an old Providian credit card account that was turned over to a collections agency with a balance of 2900 (I was a college student supporting my mother and was unable to pay back the debt).
  • My EX report currently shows this account to have a DoFD to be 4/2004 and the collection account with an open date of 10/2005.  It appears on all three bureaus.
  • The current balance now upwards of 4500 (adding interest I assume)
  • I live in Texas and a few site show SOL to be 4 yrs??  Not sure how valid this is.
  • Contacted the original creditor to obtain CC account closed date and they said it will take approx. 30 days before they will get back to me.
  • Called the collections agency and requested a debt validation letter last week.
  • Have asked the collections agency a pay for delete - and was told flat out "No. We cannot delete it."

I am willing to pay the debt because it is mine and feel that I am obligated to do so. But before I do, I would like to make sure that I'm paying the correct amount and by carefully understanding all of my rights.