Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Here, Need help repairing my credit

tag
DonnyP05
New Contributor

New Here, Need help repairing my credit

I'm looking to repair my credit. I was once young and opened up many charge accounts, then lost my job. From there everything went sour, which is what led me here today. I am looking to purchase my first house in the next year or so and would like all help I can get in making this process smooth. I have known grown up from that day and age and now have a family to support as we just had our first child. It's time to take hold of this and fix it for good.

I am new to all these terms and processes. I have done much reading here the past few days though. I have already pulled my report from annualcreditreport.com awhile back. The most reason report I have is from Experian from 9-7-2012.

EX 546 - 21 Accounts total. 18 derogatory (charge-offs, Collections, etc.) 3 in good standing. One State tax lien (Already paid). 92% Util (If I read it correctly)

Most of my accounts are quite old and many will fall off by this time next year. The other accounts I have could be paid in full, as they are mostly medical and cell phone bills

Where do I begin in starting to repair this? What reports, tools, monitors,programs do I need to purchase or look into? I am totally new to all of this. I hear people talking about their FICO scores and getting weekly/monthly score watch updates, talking about GW letters and PFD's and PID's.

I have tried reading all I can on the stickies but I just don't know where to begin. Can anyone point me in a direction to begin? Tell me what programs I need to sign up for? What reports or tools I should get?

Too sum up this post, I am a compete noob when it comes to trying to repair my credit and a helping hand to guide me in this process would be very much appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

If you need any more information from me, please just ask.