cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New guy's story and a few questions.

tag
turtletello

New guy's story and a few questions.

When I was 19 I received a Citi card with a $2500 limit along with a free sub sandwich at my college.  Later that year I received a US Bank card worth abou $450 and an AE Outfitters card worth $150.

As an irresponsible teen I carried a lot of debt while making the minimum payments but then my parent was out of work as was I so I maxed out the cards with good things such as books and supplies and gave up.

I graduated with a score in the low 500's.  I had resigned myself to depression during by post collegiate job hunt and just having bad credit until last year when I signed up for a free trial here.  I was doing some research on charge off's and such.  When I cancelled the woman told me (as I determined from researching here) that it may be the best option to wait for these items to fall off because so much time had passed.

Almost a year later I have a secured Capital One that just was increased to a $300 CL as well as a Merrick Bank VISA witha  $650 line that doubles if the first 7 payments are made on time ( I haven't missed any payments since my epiphany).

I am 24 now, engaged, and working a full time job with a base of 50k plus monthly bonuses. My scores are EQ639 TU642 EX602!?!?! (what's with that).

Here are my questions:

The Citi Card from my freshman year of college no longer shows on my report though the collection account Unifund does which has a red flag.  My largest past balance with fees and such was $3216 but this account is $7457.  The date of last activity is July 2009.

My old American Eagle Outfitters card is showing as balance of $0 (largest past due $98) with a red flag and a charge off. Last activity Jun 2010.

My old US Bank card is showing a red flag, a balcne of $0 (largest past due $655) and has been transferred/sold.  Last Activity July 2010.