Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to myFICO and rebuilding

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to myFICO and rebuilding

Newbie here, been trying to read these forums for a few months and have learned a bit. Started my credit journey in April 2017.
Back in 2012/2013 I had a 720 EQ. Went through an identity theft and had no idea how to handle it or recover from it. I decided this year to tackle learning about credit and also fix mine. Started in April with a 500/506 TU & EQ.
After lurking here I app'd for a secured card from Capital One - approved $200 with a $99 deposit.
Waited for the Cap One card to show on my credit then app'd for a VS store card through Comenity Bank - approved $250 limit.

I read up on identity theft and filled out the forms and started contacting credit bureaus to dispute the fraudulent charges. Some I was successful in removing, some I wasn't.

Anyways, I let those cards sit until July 22; my car was totaled so I applied for an auto loan through Cap One - approved, and now driving a 2014 SUV with a nearly 10% interest rate (kill me but I need the car lol). 3 days later I got brave and app'd for an AMEX Delta Gold, got the 7-10 day message, I called immediately, answered some identity verifying questions and approved for $1,000. I also have two student loans in good standing since September of 2015.

Current scores are 656 TU (9/21/17), 654 EQ (9/20/17) & 632 EX (9/16/17)

Been using and paying on both cards plus the store card, have maintained payments on my student loans and new auto loan. Recently got a new job that almost doubled my annual income but I am now required to travel A LOT! 

That's the start of my journey.

- Iz

ETA: In the future I am wanting to get the AMEX Hilton Honors card because those are the hotels we stay in and a cash back card at some point (I just don't think I am ready to app for more cards yet). Any advice is welcome! 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
tufa4311
Established Contributor