Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to this

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to this

Hello. I joined this forum for guidance on repairing my credit and clearing my debt. Ive ignored it for years and now ive reached a point where i really cannot ignore the debt any longer. Here is my situation and apologiez if you all have heard the exact same situation before.
I have 3600.00 in debt. Mostly creditc cards i took out when I was 18 (im 28 now). There are a total of 4 different collection companies that are handling the debt that accumulates to the number above. I know i can just pay it off as i go but my main question is if I can a. negotiate with the creditors and b. do i even have to pay if the debt is old. I can easily say this debt has been in my record since 2008 so almost 7 years. As i have said before, this is my first time posting in a message board EVER and i am having a hard time getting my point across as to the type of help i am seeking. Any and all advise/comments are appreciated. Thank you.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Callandra
Valued Contributor

Re: New to this

Hi! Welcome! Smiley Happy

This post might be better served in the Rebuilding Forum? 

One thing with your debt is that you will want to check the SOL (Statue of Limitations) on it -- if it is within SOL, I believe the creditors can sue and get a judgement (you'll definitely want to work something out before it comes to that). If it is outside of SOL, they cannot sue you but it will still report until the fall-off date on your reports (what is the DoFD? Date of First Deliquency). You can still try a PFD (pay for deletion) with the creditors if you want it off your report right away.

Good luck!

Quicksilver $10,000 | Better Balance Rewards $2000 | Sallie Mae $3500 | Freedom $3500

Last HP: 9/27/2015
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable