Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie--Curious about score after deleting collections

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie--Curious about score after deleting collections

Hello! I'm a newbie and I'm in the process of trying 2 get 3 collections deleted off my credit report. I'm just curious how many points will my score increase if I get all 3 collections deleted? Also I just paid down my 2 CC's to $0 balances. So I'm also curious how much will my score increase since I now have zero balances & if I get the 3 collections deleted. My Ch.13 was discharged in 6/08 and I have no loans only CC debt which is now 377 total. I would like to try & buy a house for the second time since I got a preapproval but the underwriters wouldn't sign off on my loan. My LO told me 2 get those collections deleted so that I can get approved so I would like to know if anyone have had any past experiences with getting collections deleted how many points did your score increase?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Newbie--Curious about score after deleting collections

You'll see most gains with the last CA being removed. The points gained depend on remaining baddies, the number of CAs remaining, and the age of the CA being removed. I had a 5 yo CA removed and was my last for a gain on EX FICO of 58 pts. I just had a new CA get added and when I was able to pull EX, my score dropped 103 points and that CA was also about 5 yrs old. YMMV. The BK will likely hamper the gains though, but you'll gain something.

Gain on the CCs depend on your individual CC utilization and overall utilization before the paydown and what they are after. I like to tell people if they have a good mix of credit (2 revolving and once charge), dropping util down by 10% nets 10 points. So, dropping from 80% to 0% could net about 80 pts.
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable