Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Here - Target GW Help/Clarification

tag
angelita1212
Valued Member

Newbie Here - Target GW Help/Clarification

Hi Everyone,

I am new to posting here, I've been lurking for a few months, and have been motivated to face my credit head on!

I have just received my FICO Scorewatch report, and am trying to start with the easiest things first. (It's really overwhelming to see it all in front of you!)

I had a Target cc which was sent to collections and I have paid a settlement with the CA. Looking at my report, Target is reporting this as "Pays Account as Agreed" but with the notes "Account paid for less than full balance, Closed or paid account/zero balance".

I have 4 90+ day lates showing on this from back in 2009. What is the best way to tackle this? Do I send a GW to have the 90+ day lates removed? Or do I just try to have the whole line removed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I am learning so much from all of you here!

Don't mind my in progress signature....

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Newbie Here - Target GW Help/Clarification

Welcome to the forums!

Your EQ FICO report via SW is a great first step.

FICO looks at many aspects of your TL and two items are impacting your FICO score the most (negatively): the lates and the comment. FICO reads both. In FICO-speak, a comment of "settled for less than full" or something along those lines is scored on par as a charge-off. Send a GW asking Target to remove both the comment and the lates.

There's a chance you may not want it deleted. If this TL is older than your AAoA, or among your oldest accounts, then you really wouldn't want it deleted. Sometimes the age helps more than the baddie hurts. Now 90+ days are certainly hurting.

Message 2 of 5
angelita1212
Valued Member

My AAoA is 6 yrs, and this account was first opened in 8/2007.