Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie -- Please Help!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie -- Please Help!!

I’m a total newbie and I need some major advice on where to start rebuilding. Long story short, my husband was self employed in the logging industry bringing home anywhere from $6000-$7000 per month. As countless other Americans can attest, things turned for the worst and we had a very bad few years and got behind on everything..credit cards are in collection, and house payment is reporting late right now, but I am in the process of getting that caught up. I have more credit cards in collection on my report, but my husband also has the late mortgage reporting on his and a few late auto payments. According to his Discover card statement, his FICO is 500. I have no idea what mine is, but on Credit Karma, which I know is probably completely unreliable, mine is reporting at 514. We do have several loans from years past that were paid off satisfactorily, never a payment missed, before we fell on hard times but from what I see those will not be of any significance. The auto loan that is reporting late is not on my credit, but the other loans that were paid off on time are. We are now in a position to start making things right. The only things reported as open on my husband's credit right now is our mortgage($1495 per month), auto loan ($515 per month), Discover card ($1,587 balance), Chase card ($650 balance) and Fingerhut ($385 balance). The three revolving accounts are close to maxed and I'm working on paying those off as well. The mortgage and revolving accounts (other than Fingerhut) are reporting on mine, and that is all. We have probably close to $25,000 in collection accounts, due to having to live off of credit cards for awhile. Not all are reporting on both reports, and they are all scheduled to fall off early to mid 2019. How long does it take until they don’t matter so much anymore? The date of last payment on most is early to