Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie here

There are so meaages here and I do not kow where to start. I am tryion g to rebuild my credit. Yes I will grab currnet copies of all my reports. Then what? Do I just start sending out dispute letters? is there a good web site that will show me the way, I do have a book and it says to just keep writting letters, certainly there is more to it that that. Can someone help out this NewBie?  thank you !

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Whitneyy
Valued Contributor

Re: Newbie here

Hey!

Grab them from annualcreditreport.com if you haven't already to get the full run down of what's on your credit. Then you line things up, from who you owe, and how soon it is to fall off. What you can afford to pay and etc. When you see the companies, you can search them on the forums to see if they do pay for deletes. 

GOAL - 700 FICO across the board!
Message 2 of 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Normally, the greatest negative impact on a consumer's score occurs if they have derogatory payment history, such as monthly delinquencies, a charge-off, a collection, or a public record.

The best way, in my opinion, to begin if you dont understand the system is to get your credit reports, identify any derogs that have been reported, and then post those back here on the site for specific assistance on how to deal with them.

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

@RobertEG wrote:

Normally, the greatest negative impact on a consumer's score occurs if they have derogatory payment history, such as monthly delinquencies, a charge-off, a collection, or a public record.

The best way, in my opinion, to begin if you dont understand the system is to get your credit reports, identify any derogs that have been reported, and then post those back here on the site for specific assistance on how to deal with them.

+1