Credit Cards Center Credit cards from our partners

Newbie on Board! Question about Dispute Letter

Hello..

I'm new to all of this, but I have begun the endeavor to go over my report with a fine tooth comb, put in new printer cartridges and have a letter writing party!

I read on the forum that you should not sign a DV letter.  What about the dispute type letters I'm writing?

Thank you..

Desiree
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Newbie on Board! Question about Dispute Letter

Over_It_In_SC wrote:
Hello..

I'm new to all of this, but I have begun the endeavor to go over my report with a fine tooth comb, put in new printer cartridges and have a letter writing party!

I read on the forum that you should not sign a DV letter.  What about the dispute type letters I'm writing?

Thank you..

Desiree

Welcome to these forums!

IMO, avoid disputing the CRAs, unless there is something on your CR that is obviosuly wrong and can easily back that up (misplaced lates, personal info, duplicate accounts, changing a balance to $0 if paid already, etc.). Harm can come from disputing.

However, if you were to dispute, then via mail is the best CMRRR. I would sign and don't think it matters anyway.

We mention that you shouldn't sign a DV or a PFD, esp. to a CA, because CAs have been caught scanning signatures and then in turn applying those signatures to fake documents of their choosing. CRAs won't do that.

Thank you for the information..  I am finding out that I'm going to have alot to learn and very glad I looked at this website.

Just a couple off questions of the top of my head - I thought that derogatory info was supposed to come off after 2 years (speaking of late payments)?  I'm seeing things that are well over 3 years since the last activity.

This is a thought more than a question..  Why is it that unbelievably obscure company names are allowed to be reported?.. I need a secret decoder ring to figure some of this stuff out.  I have no idea who Lvnvfundg is.
Moderator Emeritus