Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No idea where to begin to build my credit

tag
eonxblue
Established Member

No idea where to begin to build my credit

I had a few bad months late last year. I'm a recent college graduate who didn't exactly dive in and get way too much credit, but didn't handle what I had going on responsibly, either. I had two revolving accounts, BOA student card & Nordstrom retail which were both CLOSED by grantor in 11/12.

Around that time, my balances were:

BOA- $2,187 on a 2k limit. I was 90 days late before I caught up with my payments in Jan 2013.

Nordstrom - $759 on a 1k limit. I was 90 days late, too, before I caught up in Jan 2013.

Since then, I found employment and I've been making large, regular payments. As of right now, my balances on both closed accounts are:

BOA - $963.58

Nordstrom - $ 117.21

I felt good about my progress so after I've made my 6th payment to Nordstrom recently I gave them a call to have my account possibly reopened. Well, that didn't go well. I was denied and was told the following information: my Equifax score is 587 and I have "serious delinquency, a number of accounts with delinquency, and proportion of balances to limits was too high."

Now, I don't feel quite so good, of course. A hard inquiry was placed on my Equifax report, now and I have no idea where to go from here. I am going to keep making payments, of course, but now I don't know if I can at least have my Nordstrom account reopened eventually. I don't want to try again too soon but I have no idea how much longer I should wait before I try. I know BOA won't consider reopening my account, I've spoken to reps on the phone and they seemed pretty adamant on the 90 day past closing deadline.