cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not sure how to proceed. Please help!!

tag

Not sure how to proceed. Please help!!

Hello! I'm pretty new to the message boards so please bear with me since I'm not well versed with all of the acronyms yet.

I received a second letter from Smith Debnam Attorneys at Law after DV'ing and having a debt validated for GE Money Bank (charge-off for Wal-Mart in the amount of $1,404.00 -Date of first delinquency 10/2010) and they told me that the creditor is willing to work out a payment plan and that I needed to call them immediately. I had already sent a letter stating what I would be able to pay but I decided to call to see what they were talking about. The man on the phone informed me that they could offer me a settlement of $1,000.00 or I could set up a payment plan on the grounds that I consent to a "confession of a judgment."

He is going to call me back next week to see what I have decided but I have no idea how to proceed. I do not have $1,000.00 and I refuse to give up my rights by signing a confession of a judgment. What options do I have? Please help!!!Smiley Sad

Current Score as of 9/4/15 EX 647 TU 637 EQ 619
Goal Score 770+
Capital One Platinum= 2,050 CL
Capital One Quicksilver Rewards= 1,500 CL
Bank of America Cash Rewards= 1,000 CL
AMEX Everyday=1,000 CL
Amazon Store Card=1,000 CL
GARDENING!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
p-
Valued Contributor

Re: Not sure how to proceed. Please help!!

@Chrysanthemum119 wrote:

Hello! I'm pretty new to the message boards so please bear with me since I'm not well versed with all of the acronyms yet.